deutsch  |  english
 
 

Walter Bickmann studied stage dance at the conservatory of Munich, Heinz-Bosl-Stiftung (Diploma 1986). As a dancer he had engagements at the state opera of Vienna and the choreographic theatre of Johann Kresnik in Berlin, among others. He was the director of dance theatre at the city theatre Stendal and worked as a choreographer and director at the Theater im Künstlerhaus in Vienna and the Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz in Berlin, among others. He received the Sponsorship Grant for Choreography from the Austrian Federal Ministry of Science and Art.

Since his studies in the field of audio visual media at the Institute for New Media L4/ Berlin he also works as a video artist. He realized two dance films, which were shown in the special selection category of the Danscamdanse Selection at the Film Festival of Antwerp, among others.

Since 2006 Walter Bickmann has been working as a freelance choreographer and video artist in Berlin. In 2008 he received the “Dance Performance” stipend of Künstlerhaus Lukas, Ahrenshoop and was artist in residence at Schloss Bröllin.

In addition to his own artistic work he is committed to a new cultural/political awareness and the development of a broader public for contemporary dance and is the initiator and producer of the video platform www.tanzforumberlin.de

deutsch  |  english
 
 

Walter Bickmann studierte Bühnentanz an der Musikhochschule München, Heinz-Bosl-Stiftung (Diplom 1986). Als Tänzer war er unter anderem an der Staatsoper in Wien und dem Choreographischen Theater Johann Kresnik in Berlin engagiert. Er war Tanztheaterleiter am Stadttheater Stendal und arbeitete als Choreograph und Regisseur unter anderem am Theater im Künstlerhaus in Wien und der Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz in Berlin. Er erhielt den Förderpreis Choreographie des österreichischen Bundesministeriums für Wissenschaft und Kunst.

Nach einer Ausbildung im Bereich audiovisuelle Medien am Institut für neue Medien L4/ Berlin arbeitet er auch als Videokünstler. Er realisierte 2 TanzFilme, die unter anderem als Festivalbeitrag der Danscamdanse Selection beim Film Festival of Antwerp gezeigt wurden.

Seit 2006 ist Walter Bickmann als freischaffender Choreograph und Videokünstler in Berlin tätig. 2008 war er Stipendiat im Bereich Tanzperformance im Künstlerhaus Lukas, Ahrenshoop und Artist in Residence auf Schloss Bröllin.

Er engagiert sich über seine eigene künstlerische Arbeit hinaus für ein neues kulturpolitisches Bewusstsein und die Erschließung einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit für zeitgenössischen Tanz und ist Initiator und Produzent der Videoplattform www.tanzforumberlin.de