deutsch  |  english



Protect me from what I want | 2008

  Videotrailer (Vimeo Video)

Concept: Walter Bickmann
Choreography & Dance: Erol Alexandrov, Walter Bickmann, Chandana M. Hörmann, Lydia Klement
Video: Walter Bickmann, Doris Kolde

Subsidized by the Hauptstadtkulturfonds. Coproduced by schloss bröllin e.V. and Künstlerhaus Lukas Ahrenshoop. Produced at and supported by DOCK 11 Berlin.

At the edge of performance art and visual art the choreographer and video artist Walter Bickmann addresses issues of the mechanics of addiction, longing, desire and control in ”Protect me from what I want”. The reflection of societal processes and individual behavioral patterns between intoxication and disillusionment form the point of departure of this intermedia confrontation of video art and dance performance.

Press: [...] the projections together with the dance display such a suggestive power, that from the first minute on a strong pull emanates from the events… in front of the screen the dancers move into an interplay of transgression and control. Distorted movement sequences, manic gestures or even hard floor contact [...] With ”Protect me from what I want” Walter Bickmann managed to create a dialogue between video and dance well worth seeing.
Annett Jaensch, Tanzpresse.de, 12.11.08

[...] With his works between performance and video, sometimes presented in the theatre, sometimes within the framework of exhibitions, the choreographer and video artist Walter Bickmann seems to be rather a loner in Berlin. As a classically trained dancer he discovered his penchant for “walking the line” at an early point. Back then he switched abruptly from engagements as a ballet dancer, at, among others, the Vienna State Opera, to Johan Kresnik at the Berliner Volksbühne. Since then, in his own work, Bickmann shows body and objects from an unexpected point of view and puts them into an extreme relationship. [...]
Berliner Morgenpost, BerlinLive 31.10.08

deutsch  |  english



Protect me from what I want | 2008

  Videotrailer (Vimeo Video)

Konzept: Walter Bickmann
Choreographie & Tanz: Erol Alexandrov,
Walter Bickmann, Chandana M. Hörmann, Lydia Klement
Video: Walter Bickmann, Doris Kolde

Finanziert aus Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds. In Koproduktion mit schloss bröllin e.V. und Künstlerhaus Lukas, Ahrenshoop. Produziert im und unterstützt von DOCK 11 Berlin.

An der Schnittstelle von Darstellender und Bildender Kunst thematisiert der Choreograph und Videokünstler Walter Bickmann in „Protect me from what I want“ die Mechanismen von Sucht, Sehnsucht, Begierde und Kontrolle. Die Reflexion gesellschaftlicher Prozesse und individueller Verhaltensformen zwischen Rausch und Ernüchterung bilden den Ausgangspunkt dieser intermedialen Konfrontation aus Videokunst und Tanzperformance.

Presse: [...] die Projektionen entfalten zusammen mit dem Tänzerischen eine derart suggestive Kraft, dass von der ersten Minute an eine starke Sogwirkung vom Geschehen ausgeht[...] vor der Leinwand begeben sich die Tänzer in ein Wechselspiel aus Transgression und Kontrolle. Verzerrte Bewegungsabläufe, manische Gesten oder auch mal harter Bodenkontakt [...] Mit „Protect me from what I want“ ist Walter Bickmann ein sehenswerter Dialog zwischen Video und Tanz gelungen.
Annett Jaensch, Tanzpresse.de, 12.11.08

[...] Mit seinen mal im Theater, dann wieder im Rahmen von Ausstellungen präsentierten Arbeiten zwischen Performance und Video ist der Choreograf und Filmer Walter Bickmann in Berlin eher ein Einzelgänger. Als Tänzer mit klassischer Ausbildung hat er seine Vorliebe für Grenzgänge früh entdeckt. Damals wechselte er aus Engagements als Balletttänzer u.a. an der Wiener Staatsoper kurzerhand zu Johan Kresnik an die Berliner Volksbühne. In eigenen Projekten zeigt Bickmann seitdem Körper und Dinge aus unerwartetem Blickwinkel und setzt sie in ein extremes Verhältnis. [...]
Berliner Morgenpost, BerlinLive 31.10.08